Mitch Kapor steps back from the Lab

LL logoAt the end of 2014, Mitch Kapor stepped back as an active member of Linden Lab’s board of directors.

While no formal announcement was made at the time, I recently noticed Mr. Kapor’s name and biography to be absent from the Leadership section of the Lab’s corporate website’s About page, and contacted Peter Gray, the Lab’s Director of Global Communications to enquire.

“Although he remains an investor in and supporter of Linden Lab,” Peter said in reply to my enquiry, “Mitch Kapor stepped back from his role as an active member of the board of directors at the end of 2014, allowing him to devote more of his focus to the mission of the Kapor Center for Social Impact.”

Mitch Kapor (via Twitter)
Mitch Kapor (via Twitter)

Mr Kapor, who  founded Lotus Development Corporation in 1982 and designed of Lotus 1-2-3, is also a co-founder of the Electronic Frontier Foundation, was one of the first investors in Linden Lab, and was the company’s very first Chairman of the board, taking on the role in April, 2003.

His decision leaves Dana L. Evan, Bill Gurley and Jed Smith listed as board members for the company.

Dana L Evan joined the board in 2008, bringing with her 20 years of of leadership experience in global finance and operations management, including 12 years as CFO of VeriSign, Inc., where she was a founding executive and a significant contributor to the company’s growth and profitability.

Mr. Gurley joined the board in late 2004, following  a financing round which raised $8 million for the company. The round was led by Benchmark Capital, where Mr. Gurley is a general partner, and with participation from Omidyar Network.

Jed Smith was, alongside Mitch Kapor, both one of the early investors in Linden Lab, and an initial member of the board, most recently serving in the capacity of the board’s Chair. In that role, he was largely responsible for identifying Ebbe Altberg as the right candidate for the Lab’s new CEO, following Rod Humble’s departure at the end of 2013, and was also largely responsible for persuading Mr. Altberg to make the move to the Lab.

The Lab's board (l-to-r): Bill Gurley, Dana L. Evan and Jed Smith
The Lab’s board (l-to-r): Bill Gurley, Dana L. Evan and Jed Smith

One thought on “Mitch Kapor steps back from the Lab

Comments are closed.